South Gippsland District

South Gippsland District encompasses the Shires of South Gippsland and Bass Coast, and includes parts of Wellington Shire (notably Yarram). It was created when two former districts amalgamated some years ago. 

The district prides itself on running a number of high quality district events each year. These include our Water Day at Walkerville South to celebrate Founder's Day (22 February), Billly Cart Derby at Bell Park Scout Camp in June, and JOTA (Jamboree of the Air), also at Bell Park Scout Camp in October.

These district events complement the great activities that happen in the various Scout Groups. These are located in Cowes, Wonthaggi, Inverloch, Korumburra, Leongatha, Mirboo North, Fish Creek, Foster and Yarram, with some groups having Joey Mobs (for 6 - 7 year olds), all groups having Cub Packs (for 8 - 10 year olds), and most having Scout Troops (for 11 to 14 year olds). As well, the district has a Venturer Unit for 15 - 17 year olds (Tarwin River) which meets at Leongatha, and a Rover Crew for 18 - 25 year olds (Tarwin Junction) which also meets at Leongatha.

Type: District